Wike charges Rivers Angels to rule African football

Governor Nyesom Wike has lauded Rivers Angels for winning the 2021 Nigeria Women’s Football League title and charged the champions to conquer Africa at the inaugural CAF Women’s Champions League.

The Governor also expressed delight over Rivers Angels 4-0 defeat of Sunshine Queens in their final game of the season to emerge winners of the NWFL Premiership Super Six.

“You have made every one of us in Rivers State and the nation glad. We sincerely pray that this achievement will spur you to strive for a more prominent continental accomplishment. You have conquered the Nigerian football league, now go and conquer the African continent,” Wike stated this in a statement by his Special Assistant on Media, Kelvin Ebiri, on Monday.

“The government and people of Rivers State congratulate Rivers Angels for emerging as worthy winners of the 2021 NWFL Premiership Super Six. We applaud your spirited performance throughout this season.”

The Governor noted that Rivers Angels’ ability to retain their NWFL title was a testament to the hard work the team and its management had put in throughout the season.

He charged officials of the club to get the players prepared for the upcoming CAF Women’s Champions League qualifiers.

Meanwhile, Rivers United will be representing Nigeria at WAFU zonal qualifiers following their victory as the champion of the 202/21 Nigeria Women Football League Premiership (NWFL).

NPFL clubs begin adherence to LMC’s directives on players’ welfare

According to the NWFL chairperson. Aisha Falode, the General Secretary of the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF), will forward the letter to the Confederation of African Football WAFU Zone B, General Secretary, Mr. Balima, later today, thus meeting the deadline of April 26, 2021 set earlier by CAF.

The Chairperson of the NWFL, Aisha Falode, said Monday in Lagos, that Nigeria has to take part in the Zonal play-off. The winner of the NWFL Premiership 2020-2021 Season will represent Nigeria in the Zonal play off.

“The country that wins the Zonal play off represents the Zone at the final tournament later in the year. Our League Champions will play in the WAFU B play off.

Adding that: “Therefore, if Nigeria emerge as Zonal champions and are given the African Women Cup of Nations’ slot as champions, Nigeria may get two slots at the Final Tournament.

She stressed that: “This is possible because CAF has reserved one additional slot given to the Zone who produced the champion at the last edition of the AWCON for women.

Check Also

Shooting Stars return to NPFL after four-year absence

Shooting Stars return to NPFL after four-year absence

The five-time NPFL champions defeated Ekiti United FC 6-0 in the final game of the Super Eight, to wrap up the Super Eight League as winners of the Group B Conference and thus seal their promotion to the NPFL.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *