WAFU B Championship: Nigeria’s Flying Eagles departs Thursday

WAFU B Championship: Nigeria's Flying Eagles departs Thursday

The Head Coach of the Flying Eagles, Ladan Bosso has said his team is ready for action at the 2022 WAFU Zone B Under-20 Cup of Nations in the Niger Republic.

He stated this on Monday while fielding questions from newsmen, adding that the Nigerian national under-20 men football team is in good shape and ready to depart for Niamey on Thursday.

The Flying Eagles will face perennial rivals Ghana in their opening Group B game when the WAFU Zone B qualifiers get underway.

Bosso said his team opened camp in Abuja on April 19 with 56 players and it gradually took shape.

“We started to reduce the initial team gradually, even though we started the camp barely a week from now. So far, we have played three matches, and we won all the games.

“We had our seventh training session Monday evening and we have started to see a difference in the team’s performance than when we started. So, we are good to go,” he said.

Meanwhile, the team’s first friendly match ended in a 2-2 draw and it was for those players who came for screening.

However, on Saturday, they played two friendlies, winning 4-2 against Cosmos FC of Abuja and 4-0 against Basira FC from Nasarawa state.

“In these three matches, we scored 10 goals and conceded four. This shows that things are not too bad. “On Tuesday, we will take on City FC of Abuja in another friendly to continue to work on the team to produce a better result,” Bosso added.

The coach however said he and his team were not scared or afraid of Group rivals Ghana and Burkina Faso at the qualifiers.

“We will strive to give our best to win our first match and the subsequent ones to progress,” he said.

The 2022 WAFU Zone B Under-20 Cup of Nations will hold from May 7 to May 20, and it is a qualifier for the Under-20 Africa Cup of Nations.

The Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) has already approved for the team to travel with 30 players.

Nigeria, Burkina Faso and Ghana are in the tournament’s group B, while hosts Niger Republic have been drawn against Côte d’Ivoire, Togo and the Republic of Benin in Group A.

Goalkeepers: Nathaniel Nwosu (Water FC); Chijioke Aniagboso (Giant Brillars); Saheed Jimoh (Adoration FC)

Defenders: Opeyemi Omooloyi (Akure City); Abubakar Babaji (Niger Tornadoes); Lekan Oyedele (Remo Stars); Oluwatosin Adegbite (Enyimba FC); Augustine Njoku (Abia Warriors); Chikezie Okolie (Giant Brillars); David Sholumade (Akwa United); Benjamin Frederick (ABS FC)

Midfielders: Anas Hassan (Vandrezzer FC); Daniel Daga (FC One Rocket); Oluwaseyi Falodun (Jossy United); Samson Lawal (Katsina United); Onuche Ogbelu (Fosla Academy); Muhammad Aminu (Gombe United); Muhammad Shehu (Katsina United); Frederick Godwin (City FC)

Forwards: Adams Olubi (FK Zalgris Vilnius, Lithuania); Tolulope Ojo (Remo Stars); Ibrahim Muhammad (Maikunkele FC); Ibrahim Yahaya (Gombe United); Rilwanu Haliru Sarki (Mahanaim FC); Divine Nwachukwu (Adoration FC); Ahmed Abdullahi (HB Academy); Abdullahi Adam (Nasarawa United); Albert Hilary (Plateau United)

Thank you for reading this post, don't forget to subscribe to our YouTube channel