The total costs of hosting FIFA World Cup since 1994

Total costs of hosting FIFA World Cup since 1994

The FIFA World Cup, often simply called the World Cup, is an international association football competition contested by the senior men’s national teams who are members of the Fédération Internationale de Football Association (FIFA).

The championship has been awarded every four years since the inaugural tournament in 1930, except in 1942 and 1946 when it was not held because of the Second World War.

As of the 2018 FIFA World Cup, twenty-one final tournaments have been held and a total of 79 national teams have competed. The trophy has been won by eight national teams. Brazil have won five times, and they are the only team to have played in every tournament.

The other FIFA World Cup winners are Germany and Italy, with four titles each; Argentina, France, and inaugural winner Uruguay, with two titles each; and England and Spain, with one title each.

17 countries have hosted the World Cup. Brazil, France, Italy, Germany, and Mexico have each hosted twice, while Uruguay, Switzerland, Sweden, Chile, England, Argentina, Spain, the United States, Japan and South Korea (jointly), South Africa, and Russia have each hosted once.

Qatar will host the 2022 tournament, and 2026 will be jointly hosted by Canada, the United States, and Mexico, which will give Mexico the distinction of being the first country to host games in three World Cups.

The current champions are France, who won their second title at the 2018 tournament in Russia.

However, organising the tournament is capital intensive as the host nations put everything in place, from stadium to security, to entertainment and more which cost a lot of money.

The SportsBay takes a cursory look at the total costs of hosting the FIFA World Cup since 1994.


The United States of America (USA) spent $0.5bn to host the world cup which was won by Brazil. The Samba Boys defeated Italy 3-2 on penalties at the Rose Bowl Pasedena.

France hosted this edition by spending $2.3bn. The 16th edition of the World Cup was won by the host after defeating the defending champions, Brazil 3-0 at the Stade de France, Saint Denis.

The 17th edition was co-hosted by Asian giants, South Korea and Japan who spent a whopping $7bn. Brazil reclaimed the trophy to earn their 5th win after beating Germany 2-0 at the International Stadium, Yokohoma.

European economic power, Germany spent $4.3bn to host the tournament which was eventually won by Italy after defeating France 5-3 on penalties.

This is the first World Cup to be hosted by an African nation. South Africa spent $3.6bn and it was adjudged by all to be the most interesting tournament. The tournament saw Spain winning the trophy for the first time, beating Netherlands 1-0 at the Soccer City, Johannesburg. Spain became the eighth nation to win the tournament and the first European nation to win a World Cup hosted outside its home continent: all previous World Cups held outside Europe had been won by South American nations.

Brazil hosted the FIFA World Cup spending $15b in the process. Germany who had mauled the host nation in the semi-finals emerged winner defeating Argentina by a lone goal at the Maracana Stadium, Rio de Janeiro.

Russia who are currently in the eye of the storm for invading neighbours, Ukraine spent $11.6bn. France defeated Croatia 4-2 in an exciting finals at the Luzhniki Stadium, Moscow.

Qatar is the host for the 22nd edition having spent a whopping $220bn. The finals will be held at the Iconic Stadium, Lusail. It is scheduled to take place from 20 November to 18 December 2022. This will be the first World Cup ever to be held in the Arab world and the second World Cup held entirely in Asia after the 2002 tournament in South Korea and Japan.

list of fifa world cup winners
List of fifa world cup winners since 1930
All FIFA World Cup finals goals