1.1 C
New York
Tuesday, January 4, 2022

Sports ministry unveils committee on football development master plan

The Federal Ministry of Youth and Sports Development has constituted a 17-man committee to produce a Ten-Year Football Development Master Plan for Nigeria in line with the charge of President Muhammadu Buhari.

The committee members include former famed internationals such as Segun Odegbami, Sunday Oliseh, Adokiye Amiesimaka and Emmmanuel Babayaro.

The list also includes other members like Alhaji Ibrahim Galadima and Honourable Ayo Omidiran, who have experienced football at the administrative level in the country and have the knowledge upon which to draw as they take on the presidential responsibility of producing such a blueprint.

The president expressed his optimism that the “master plan” will impact Nigerian football positively on the global stage during the visit of FIFA president, Gianni Infantino.

“‘I have also approved the unveiling of a committee to draw up a 10-year football development master plan for the country.

‘‘I expect that the recommendations of this committee will accelerate the development of football. It is my hope that it will further improve the fortunes of the game internationally,” he said

It will be recalled in June, Buhari had directed the Ministry of Sports to liaise with the Nigerian Football Federation (NFF) and develop a 10-year Nationa Football Master Plan for the country.

“I want to see Nigeria’s football develop and move in a more dynamic trajectory from football administration to youth and grassroots football, talent hunt and use of Nigeria’s home based talents.

‘‘Nigeria also needs a more privatized and better organised football regime that can rival others in Europe and America,” he said then.

The members of the Committee are listed as follows:

1. Emmanuel Babayaro

2. Sunday Oliseh

3. Chief Olusegun Odegbami(MON)

4.          Mr. Ikeddy Isiguzo

5.         Barrister Adokiye Amiesimaka(MON)

6.         Barrister Musa Amadu

7.          Dr. Bode Durotoye (Ministry Rep)

8.         John Opubor (NESG. Rep. OPS)

9.         Hon. Ayo Omidiran

10.        Mr. Ogbu Augustine Ojiabor

11. Tobechukwu Okigbo(MTN)

12. Ade Ojeikere

13. Alhaji Ibrahim Galadima

14. Alhaji Mohammed Sanusi(SG NFF)

15. Ogbuefi Tony Nnachetta

16. Mr. Yemi Idowu

17. Muhammad Daha Umar Faruk

I'm an avid and seasoned sports/ multimedia journalist. I have a biased love for Real Madrid and passionate advocate for the overall growth of the Nigeria Sports Project. I can be reached on 09077894123 or/and '[email protected]'

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles

Notice: ob_end_flush(): failed to send buffer of zlib output compression (0) in /home/thesport/public_html/wp-includes/functions.php on line 5107