Sevilla win their 7th UEFA Europa League title

Sevilla win their 7th UEFA Europa League title

Sevilla defeated Roma on penalties in a frenzied Puskas Arena in Budapest to win their record-extending seventh Europa League title.

Gonzalo Montiel, who also scored the winning penalty for Argentina in the World Cup final against France, replicated the trick for the Spanish side after a 1-1 draw, with a retaken spot kick after Roger Ibanez and Gianluca Mancini had failed for Roma.

After a naturally cautious first ten minutes, Roma created their first opportunity in the 12th minute when left winger Leonardo Spinazzola fired directly at Bono after excellent work down the opposite side by Zeki Celic. It was 1-0 on either side of the goalkeeper.

Despite Sevilla having the majority of possession in the first 20 minutes, Roma played better. A last performance fit for Jose Mourinho.

In the 35th minute, Paulo Dybala gave Roma the lead with a wonderful left-footed strike after being found by Gianluca Mancini’s lovely through ball.

Fernando probably ought to have done better with a free header from a corner when Sevilla finally attacked the Roma defense.

The second half began as expected with Roma remaining resolute in defence, with most of their players behind the ball. It was up to Sevilla to break that down.

And break it down they did, Jesus Navas’ dangerous cross ricocheting off Mancini and into the net for an own goal.

This turned the game on its head with Roma’s previous coolness being replaced by some nervy defending as Sevilla seized the initiative.

The Spanish side have now won seven — an incredible record which means they won four more Europa League’s than the next best side in Inter Milan (three).

A disappointing season in La Liga means little now as they will be in the Champions League next season.

Meanwhile, Jose Mourinho’s magical run in European finals has come to an end.

The Portuguese manager had won every single final they he played in before tonight and they ran Sevilla all the way to penalties — losing after Gianluca Mancini and Roger Ibanez missed their spot-kicks.

Thank you for reading this post, don't forget to subscribe to our YouTube channel