Szymon Marciniak, the referee who took charge of the 2022 World Cup final, has acknowledged that he erred during the match between France and Argentina.
Last Sunday, Marciniak became the first referee from Poland to officiate the biggest football match in history.
Three justly awarded penalties and the booking of French striker Marcus Thuram for diving without consulting VAR were among Marciniak’s highlights.
The 41-year-old has acknowledged that it was not his ideal outing.
“Of course, there were mistakes in this final,” he told Sport.PL.
“I interrupted the French counter-attack after a bad tackle by Marcos Acuna.
“I was afraid that the fouled player wanted to unwind, and I read it wrong because nothing happened, and you could give an advantage and then come back with a card.
“It’s hard. In a game like this, I take such a mistake in the dark. The important thing is that there were no big mistakes.”