Qatar 2022: Argentina defeat Croatia to advance to sixth World Cup finals

… African trailblazers, Morocco face monumental test on Wednesday

Qatar 2022: Argentina defeat Croatia to advance to sixth World Cup finals.

Argentina overcame Croatia 3-0 in an electrifying match at the 80,000-seat Lusail Stadium to advance to the 2022 FIFA World Cup finals in Qatar, reports.

Argentina have won two world cups in 1978 and 1986 while being runners-up three times in 1930, 1990 and 2014.

The South Americans had little space to maneuver during the early stages of the game thanks to the dominance of the Europeans, but as the game went on, the balance started to tip in favor of the Argentines.

Lionel Messi, Argentina’s talisman, scored the opening goal from the penalty spot with 15 minutes remaining in the first half. Julian Alvarez increased the advantage nine minutes later, and Argentina led 2-0 at the break.

The two-time World Cup champions further demonstrated their desire to get to the finals at the start of the second half when Alvarez made it 3-0 in the 69th minute. Argentina now have a final match against either Morocco or France on Sunday.

Meanwhile, African torchbearers Morocco will attempt to continue their incredible World Cup 2022 odyssey when they take on current champions France in tomorrow’s semi-final at the Al Bayt Stadium.

The Atlas Lions defeated Portugal 1-0 to go to the final four, while Les Bleus defeated a tenacious England team 2-1 to maintain their chances of winning back-to-back championships.

With victories over three international powerhouses, Belgium, Spain, and Portugal, Morocco would be a deserving finalist. The Atlas Lions also reach the semi-final having impressively kept the opposition at bay throughout the whole tournament.

Regragui’s team has kept four clean sheets so far in Qatar, with Aguerd’s own goal against Canada the lone exception.

Moroccan supporters will take pride in this statistic, as the last two teams to do so at the same World Cup were Italy in 2006 and Spain in 2010, both of whom went on to win the title.