Obaseki shows dexterity at amateur open golf tourney

Obaseki shows dexterity at amateur open golf tourney

The Edo State governor Godwin Obaseki has again shown his golfing skills at the Benin Club Golf Section (BCGS) 2021 Captain’s Inaugural Amateur Open Golf Tournament held over the weekend in Edo State.

The tournament organised by the BCGS Captain, Mayer Ologbosere was part of the yearly golf event hosted by the new captain to launch himself into the realm of leadership position as the number one golfer in the section.

The tournament which teed-off with over 150 golfers across Nigeria lived up to the expectation of the participants who graciously played the game of their lives in order to emerge victorious.

Played at the BCGS golf course, GRA, Benin City, Ojomo was adjudged the overall best winner with a resounding net score of 72 having played total of 82 gross, thus won the trophy and other prizes.

In the same vein, Governor Obaseki playing handicap 19 played better game on the day with an astonishing 91 gross to settle for 72 net and thus declared winner in the men’s category ahead of Hon. V. Emuakhagbon with same 72 net but was beaten on count back.

Also, former President of Benin Club, Dr. Matthew Oriakhi with 75 net could only earned him third place while former captain, Prince Agahtise Erediauwa settled for fourth position with 76 net. Osaaze Iyare hereby win the best gross with 85 gross.

The ladies category was another battle of the titans as Ehis Igbinadolor with 74 net scored made her to dominate the duo of Suwadetu Mahmud, 76 net and Sandra Emina, 79 net to second and third position respectively.

Other winners included Gaius Obaseki, playing handicap 21 won the super vet men’s category with 74, just as S. T. Aghedo emerged best in the vet men’s cadre with a net score of 76 while Osaghae Omosefe clinched the vet ladies with 76 net, having beaten Prof. Josephine Mokwunyei on count back.

Similarly, Gibson Lee (hcp 13) and P. Irabor (hcp 23) clinched the guests men’s and ladies event as they both played 73 net and 75 net respectively.

Nkwopara Henry Ovoko won nearest the pin at hole-in-one just as P. I. Oboro won the ladies category. M. Shaibu, and Igbinadolor emerged best in the longest drive men’s and ladies award respectively.

Meanwhile, in his address, Captain, Mayer Ologbosere expressed gratitude to governor Obaseki, his deputy, Philip Shaibu, and other dignitaries for taken part in the tournament, adding that he was pleased with the turn out and coordination of all golfers both on and off the course.

Check Also

You don’t need millions to play golf – Obaleye

You don’t need millions to play golf – Obaleye

The chairman, Local Organising Committee for the Senator Emma Anosike Captain’s Inaugural tournament, Dr Olabanjo …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *