Poland 2019: Nigeria U-20 players protest unpaid allowances, miss flights

Flying Eagles promise winning start in Morocco

The Flying Eagles have promised to the nation proud in their group games at the 12th All Africa Games in Morocco speaking through the captain, Ibrahim Abubakar.

They will play Burkina Faso on Friday, August 16, 2019 in their first match at this year’s Africa Games billed Morocco, before taking on South Africa on Tuesday, August 20 and hosts Morocco on Friday, August 23 at the same venue.

“We want to start on a winning note so as to put fears in our opponents and enhance our chances of winning the gold medal in the football event,” he said.

Abubakar stressed that the team would do its best to put Nigeria on the podium at the continental Games.

“We have been preparing and the coaches have also been talking to us and telling us about the importance of the competition,” he said.

“I know Nigerians want us to do well and we want to make sure we make them proud by doing all we can to go as far as we can at the Games.

“This is a great opportunity for me and my teammates to make the nation proud and we are determined to do so,” Abubakar added.

Meanwhile, the team will travel out from Lagos today to Morocco for the Games which will officially begin on Tuesday, August 19.

Already, Coach Paul Aigbogun has released his final list of 18 players for the Games with the likes of Success Makanjuola, Chinonso Emeka, Peter Eletu, Collins Sor and Rabiu Mohammed, who all featured at the FIFA U-20 World Cup in Poland, returning to the team.

The duo of Detan Ogundare and Matthew Yakubu are the goalkeepers, with Rabiu Mohammed leading the defenders that included, Mike Zaruma, Habibu Sadiq Yakubu, Victor Arikpo Eteng and Sanusi Abdulmutallif.

Check Also

Team Nigeria arrive in Abuja

Rabat 2019: Team Nigeria arrive in Abuja to rousing welcome

Team Nigeria arrived in Abuja to a rousing welcome on Sunday after finishing second overall …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *