Edo 2020: Team Bayelsa clinch 5 gold medals in swimming, judo

Edo 2020: Team Delta set new swimming records

Team Delta have are unrelenting in their efforts to retain their title as they set new National and Festival swimming records in the 20th National Sports Festival.

In the 800m freestyle men, Opute Clinton emerged winner with a timing of 9:34:53 to set a new national and festival record once held by Samson Opuakpo in 2006.

Also, in the 100m backstroke women, Delta’s Timipamere Akiayefa won with a timing of 1:14:93, defeating Edo and Bayelsa to win gold.

Similarly,the quartet of Timipame-Ere Akiayef, Nmor Evelyn, Okolugbo Chinonye and Okpochini Deborah won gold for Team Delta with a timing of 4:20:98Nsikak Etim Solomon added to the medal haul of team Rivers today at the ongoing National Sports Festival in Edo State after winning a gold in scrabble.

In the same vein, Akwa Ibom’s Nsikak Etim Solomon has defeated favourite and first African to be crowned World scrabble champion Jighere Wellington to the top podium prize in the Masters singles event.

Wellington who is representing Team Delta settled for Silver, while George Ezinore of Edo State won bronze.

In the female singles, Team Delta’s Tuoyo Mayuku won the gold, while Sule Success and Bukunmi Afolayan of Edo and Ogun State won Silver and bronze respectively.

Delta also dominated the open singles category with Godsfavour Whiskey beating Sunday Ituah (Lagos) and Itiemo Brigeni (Bayelsa) to the Gold medal.

Check Also

Messi makes worst league start in 16 years

Messi makes worst league start in 16 years

The Argentine superstar, Lionel Messi wait for his first Ligue 1 goal goes on after …

One comment

  1. Pingback: Team Delta Set New Swimming Records - Rifnote

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *