11 clubs seek new ‘home’ stadia ahead of 2020/21 NPFL season opener

11 clubs seek new ‘home’ stadia ahead of 2020/21 NPFL season opener

No fewer than 11 Nigeria Professional Football League club sides will be playing their home games outside their original stadia when the 2020/21 NPFL season starts, the sportsbay.com reports.

According to information from the League Management Company, 9 of the clubs will need to upgrade or repair their stadia before the season commences while the remaining 2 clubs will need to completely remodel and reconstruct theirs.

The stadia that need an upgrade or repairs Akure Township Stadium (Sunshine Stars); Nnamdi Azikiwe Stadium (Enugu Rangers); New Jos Township Stadium; and Sani Abacha Stadium (Kano Pillars).

Others are Warri Township Stadium (Warri Wolves); Future Stadium (Adamawa United); Lafia Township Stadium (Nasarawa United); Agege Stadium (MFM FC) and Ifeanyi Ubah Stadium (IfeanyiUbah FC).

The stadia that need complete remodelling are Dutse Township Stadium (Wikki Tourists) and Umuahia Township Stadium (Abia Warriors)

The approved stadia for the season are Enyimba International Stadium; Stephen Keshi Stadium; Samuel Ogbemudia Stadium; Ilorin Township Stadium; Ahmadu Bello Stadium and Teslim Balogun Stadium.

Others are Muhammad Dikko Stadium; Aper Aku Stadium; Okigwe Township Stadium; Gombe Township Stadium; Adokiye Amesimaka Stadium and Godswill Akpabio Stadium.

Meanwhile, the LMC has told the clubs whose preferred grounds have been recommended for an upgrade to choose from any of the approved stadia should they be unable to complete the upgrade before the season starts.

Top NFF officials promise Flying Eagles players payment of allowances on arrival

The League Management Company has communicated the development to the clubs in a memo that reads:

“In line with the CAF Circular of July 26, 2020, on stadium infrastructure among others, which was forwarded to you and the need to meet up with the requirements of high-quality television production by our new partners, the LMC has reviewed various reports submitted on the state of our stadia across the country”.

It further explained that the inspected stadiums have been categorised into two; A and B with Category A representing those that have been approved to host NPFL matches for the season having met the minimum requirements while Category B includes those requiring upgrades.

“We have made notes on the areas/repairs needed to be done before recertification”, the memo stated.

It will be recalled that the Nigeria Football Federation had endorsed a proposal by the LMC for the 2020-21 season of the NPFL to start “anytime from Sunday, 15 November 2020.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here