Badminton: Court injunction stops players from international tourneys

Badminton: Court injunction stops players from international tourneys

The careers of Badminton players in the country may be been halted due to the recent court injunction stopping the electoral processes and composition of the Badminton Federation of Nigeria (BFN) board.

According to information gathered, the court injunction which grounded the sport in Nigeria has led to the 6th Lagos International Badminton Classics which is the biggest Badminton World Federation sanctioned championship in Africa to be cancelled as the world body had no organisation to relate with in the country.

The championship which the immediate board of BFN had scheduled to run from 3rd to 6th November 2021 was shelved because of the lacuna in the running of the sport in Nigeria.

Also, Team Nigeria was withdrawn from the All-Africa Senior Championship which is scheduled to take place in Uganda from 21st to 28th October 2021.

Another loss the country incurred owing to the non-composition of a board is the poor ranking the country’s players will have to contend with.

It is learnt that Nigeria is not in good standing with the Badminton World Federation (BWF) because the country was unable to fill and return the schedule A form for updating membership of MAs after the original deadline of 30th September and 11th October which was the extension given Nigeria to update its membership.

NFF warns Rohr on ceaseless breaches of contract

The participation of two Nigerian players who qualified for the world championship in Spain in December is also threatened as there is no board in place to handle preparation.

Owing to the cancellation of the Lagos International as well as the withdrawal of Nigeria from the AllAfrica Senior Championship in Uganda as a result of the absence of a board, Nigeria will lose two votes out of its voting strength during the AGM next year.

However, the sports ministry yesterday inaugurated a 13-man interim committee to be led by former president, Francis Orbih.

The inauguration was conducted by the Permanent Secretary, Alhaji Ismaila Abubakar who stood in for the minister of sports, Sunday Dare sworn yesterday.

Orbih will be assisted by Maina Mohammed, Solaja Obiageli, Yusuf L. Bello, Shehu Sulyman Warah and Tangbe Felix Awala.

The others are Tunde Kazeem, George Shitta,  Etuku Tenimu,  Esther Gidado, Malik Anas, Amb Yahaya Yusuf and Grace Gabriel.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here