Akinwunmi, Dikko, Gusau, Kwande, Amadu, Emeruwa, 5 others cleared for NFF elections

NFF elections

The Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) Electoral Committee 2022 has certified 11 candidates to contest for President of the NFF in the elections, which are scheduled for Friday, September 30, in Benin City.

Barr Seyi Akinwunmi, the current first vice president, is at the top of the list, Mallam Shehu Dikko, the current 2nd Vice President; Alhaji Ibrahim Musa Gusau, the current Chairman of Chairmen; Suleiman Yahaya-Kwande, the current Member of Board; and Barr Musa Amadu, the previous General Secretary with Dr. Christian Emeruwa, the Confederation of African Football’s Director of Safety and Security.

Former NFF First Vice President Mazi Amanze Uchegbulam, Chairman of the FCT Football Association Mallam Adam Mouktar Mohammed, Former Nigerian International Goalkeeper Peterside Idah, Former Chairman of Kano Pillars FC and renowned technocrat Alhaji Abba Abdullahi Yola, and UK-based David-Buhari Doherty have also been approved for the exalted position, which will be vacated by FIFA Council Member Mr. Amaju Melvin

Due to an invalid nomination, Mr. Paul Yusuf of Plateau State was disqualified and this is the same reason Mr. Marcellinus Anyanwu of Imo State was eliminated from the race.

Three persons, viz current Member of Board, Chief Felix Anyansi-Agwu; current Member of Board, Senator Obinna Ogba and; Mr Chinedu Okoye will battle for the post of 1st Vice President.

Current Member of Board, Alhaji Yusuf Ahmed ‘Fresh’ was the only one who obtained the form, and has been cleared for, the position of Chairman of Chairmen.

Contesting for seats on the Executive Committee from the South East are: Pastor Emeka Inyama (Abia State); Mr. Chikelue Iloenyosi (Anambra State); Mr Karibe Pascal Ojigwe (Abia State); Mr. Jude Benjamin Obikwelu (Anambra State) and; Sir Emmanuel Ochiagha (Imo State).

For North Central are Alhaji Mohammed Alkali (Nasarawa State); Rt. Hon. Margaret Icheen (Benue State); Hon. Idris Abdullahi Musa (Kwara State); Mr. Daniel Amokachi (Benue State) and; Mr. Benedict Akwuegbu (Plateau State).

Current Member of Board, Ms Aisha Falode tops the list of candidates from the South South region, with Chief Kenneth Nwaomucha (Delta State); Mr. Gregory Abang (Cross River State); Mr. Roland Abu Omomoh (Edo State); Barr. Poubeni Ogun (Bayelsa State); Mr Jarret Tenebe (Edo State) and; Rt. Hon. Essien Udofot (Akwa Ibom State) also vying for seats from that zone.

Current Member of Board, Alhaji Ganiyu Majekodunmi leads the list of contestants for seats from the South West, with Otunba Sunday Dele-Ajayi (Ondo State); Alhaji Olawale Gafar Liameed (Lagos State); Mr. Afolabi Taiwo Olugbenga (Osun State); Mr. Ayodeji Adegbenro (Ondo State) and Barr. Pelumi Jacob Olajengbesi also in the race. Mr. Ayodeji Ogunjobi (Osun State) was disqualified for not providing evidence of tax payment.

North East candidates are current Member of Board, Alhaji Babagana Kalli (Borno State); Barr. Sajo Mohammed (Adamawa State) and; Mr. Timothy Henman Magaji (Taraba State)

Current Member of Board, Alhaji Sharif Rabiu Inuwa (Kano State) is the only candidate from the North West.

Heads up!

If you decide to use quotes from this content, you're legally required to credit The SportsBay as the source and include a backlink to our story. Gotta respect that copyright.

Meanwhile, thank you for reading this post, and please don't forget to share the post and subscribe to our YouTube channel