Aiteo Cup: Bayelsa Utd confirm NFF yet to pay N25m prize money

Aiteo Cup: Bayelsa Utd confirm NFF yet to pay N25m prize money

Ebiki Timitimi, the chairman of Bayelsa United, has revealed that the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) had not yet given the team its N25 million prize money for winning the Aiteo Cup the previous year.

Timitimi refuted rumors that the club had refused to return the trophy because the NFF had not paid the prize money in a statement that was signed by the club’s head of media, Hananeel Jackson.

It will be recalled that the Yenagoa-based Nigeria National League, NNL side won the 2021 Aiteo Cup on August 8, after defeating NPFL side Nasarawa United via penalty shoot-out following a 2-2 draw at the end of extra-time.

Bayelsa United won the penalty shootout 4-3 to win the trophy for the first time ever in their history at the Ogbemudia stadium in Benin City, Edo State.

In a statement signed by the club’s Head of media, Hananeel Jackson, the club had written to the NFF to demand for the payment of the twenty five million naira money but the federation has failed to keep to their promise.

He noted that the team is focused in its quest to return to the elite division and don’t want to be distracted with two games to go starting from Nnewi United this weekend and Cynosure Fc of Abakaliki at home while thanking governor  Douye Diri and his deputy Senator Lawrence Ewhrudjakpo for unending support given to the team, assuring them of NPFL return.

It would be recalled that Kano Pillars also complained for several years that they were not paid the prize money for the cup competition organized by the NFF.