The Men’s senior national basketball team will tonight leave for China for the final phase of their 2019 FIBA World Cup preparation.

Afrobasket Qualifiers: Ike Diogu leads Mike Brown’s 20 man provisional list

D’Tigers new coach Mike Brown has released a 20 man provisional list for the 2021 Afrobasket qualifiers slated for Kigali, Rwanda between 27th and 29th, November.

Brown who will officially start his voyage with Nigeria submitted a list featuring 7 players who featured at the 2019 FIBA World Cup where Nigeria qualified for the Olympics in Tokyo.

Captain, Ike Diogu will lead the legion which includes 29-year-old Stan Okoye (Gran Canaria), Ben Uzoh, Ike Iroegbu, Talib Zanna, Ekpe Udoh and Michael Eric.

2015 NBA winner with Golden State Warriors, Festus Ezeli will be on the flight to Rwanda for a chance to represent Nigeria for the first time ever alongside a member of the 2015 Afrobasket winning team, Mike Gbinije.

After missing the final 12 man team to the world cup, France based Ike Nwamu will make another return to the team alongside Tonye Jekiri, Christopher Obekpa, Braxton Ogbueze, Mike Efevberha, Obinna Emegano who at some point featured during the team’s 2019 qualifiers series.

Chima Moneke who has averaged 12.3pts and 5.8rebs in 4 games for Orléan in the French league has also been called up for the first time alongside Zaid Christopher Hearst-Okpalannaka who plies his trade in the second tier of the French league.

Other new faces who will hope to earn their first cap include Real Betis power forward, Obi Enechionyia alongside Ogbunu John and Rasheed Sulaimon who play for Casademont Zaragoza


1. Stan Okoye Small Forward Club Baloncesto Gran Canaria (Spain)

2. Ikechukwu Nwamu Shooting Guard Cholet (France)

3. Ike Iroegbu Point Guard Capital City Go-Go (NBA G League, USA)

4. Talib Zanna Centre Hapoel Tel Aviv B.C (Israel)

5. Chima Moneke Power Forward Orléans Loiret Basket (France)

6. Obinna Enechionyia Power Forward Real Betis (Spain)

7. Micheal Gbinije Shooting Guard BC Nevėžis (Lithuania)

8. Obi Emegano. Shooting Guard Baloncesto Fuenlabrada (Spain)

9. Mike Efevberha Shooting Guard JA Vichy-Clermont Métropole (France)

10. Michael Eric Centre Turk Telekom Basketball (Turkey)

11. Tonye Jekiri Centre Club Deportivo Saski-Baskonia (Spain)

12. Rasheed Sulaimon Shooting Guard Casademont Zaragoza (Spain)

13. Zaid Hearst-Okpalannaka Shooting Guard Antibas (France)

14. Ekpe Udoh Centre

15. Ben Uzoh Point Guard

16. Christopher Obekpa Centre

17. Ike Diogu Centre

18. Braxton Ogbuezue Guard

19. Festus Ezeli Centre

20. John Ogbunu


Check Also

Without Messi, Ronaldo, El Clasico remains best club match - Benzema

Without Messi, Ronaldo, El Clasico remains best club match – Benzema

Real Madrid striker, Karim Benzema, has insisted that the El Clasico is still the best …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *