-2.8 C
New York
Tuesday, January 11, 2022

African champions Algeria win FIFA Arab Cup

Algeria defeated Tunisia by scoring two extra time goals to lift the FIFA Arab cup trophy at the Al Bayt Stadium in Qatar on Saturday in a tight competition between the two northern African giants.

Extra-time goals by substitute Amr Sayoud and Yacine Brahimi gave Algeria a 2-0 win over neighbours Tunisia in the FIFA Arab Cup final at the Al Bayt Stadium on Saturday.

Algeria added the Arab crown to the Africa Cup of Nations title they won in 2019 and will defend in Cameroon next month.

The goals, by substitute Amr Sayoud and Yacine Brahimi, gave Algeria the last-minute lead, adding the Arab crown to the Africa Cup of Nations title Algeria won in 2019, which it is set to defend in Cameroon next month.

Sayoud, 31, made his international debut in Algeria’s opening game of the tournament but did not play again until coming on just past the hour mark in the final.

His 99th-minute shot gave Tunisia goalkeeper Mouez Hassen no chance and turned Sayoud into an instant national hero.

Brahimi scored on a breakaway with the last kick of the game as Tunisia pushed everyone up for a last-gasp corner and he raced away unchecked after the ball was cleared by the Algeria defence.

Arsene Wenger gets new job with Fifa

Algeria beat hosts Qatar to secure their place in the final, while Tunisia beat favourites Egypt to get through.

What is FIFA Arab Cup

Simply called Arab Cup, is an international association football competition which has been organized by FIFA since 2021, and is contested by the senior men’s national teams of the Union of Arab Football Associations (UAFA), the sport’s governing body for countries in the Arab world.

The championship’s inaugural edition was in 1963, held in Lebanon, which was won by Tunisia. After having been played in 1964 and 1966, the Arab Cup was halted for almost 20 years, before being contested in 1985.

The tournament was played five more times until 2012, the last competition organized by the UAFA. The 2021 edition was the first organized by FIFA.

The 2021 edition was the first edition to be organised by FIFA; the competition was renamed FIFA Arab Cup.

Following the 2021 final, FIFA President Gianni Infantino announced that FIFA would continue to oversee future editions.

I'm an avid and seasoned sports/ multimedia journalist. I have a biased love for Real Madrid and passionate advocate for the overall growth of the Nigeria Sports Project. I can be reached on 09077894123 or/and '[email protected]'

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles

Notice: ob_end_flush(): failed to send buffer of zlib output compression (0) in /home/thesport/public_html/wp-includes/functions.php on line 5107