Bayelsa Queens emerge winners of 2019 NWPL Champions’ Shield


Bayelsa Queens have emerged winners of the 2019 Nigeria Women Premier League Champions (NWPL) Shield played on Saturday in Yenagoa, Bayelsa capital.

The team defeated Rivers Angels 2-0 at the end of the regulation time to secure the victory for the first time.

Bayelsa Queens had it first goal through Igwe Uzoamaka in the 43th minute of the game from a free-kick, while Lucky Odiri made it two in the 75 minute.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that Bayelsa Queens won the 2018 League Champions, while Rivers Angel clinched the AITEO Cup Champions trophy, whichnqualified both teams for the NWPL Champions’ Shield.

Bayelsa Queens won the Nigeria Women Premier League in 2018 after winning it back to back in 2006 and 2007, while Rivers Angels won their eighth AITEO Cup title, beating Ibom Angels.

NAN recalls that Rivers Angels had in 2018 won the Champions’ Shield title in Lagos.

MFM coach extols players for brave performance in Katsina

Late Guardiola goal denies Madrid victory

Bet9ja Ekiti Football league: Organizers salute teams as league goes on break


Olusola 'Jide

I'm an avid and seasoned sports/ multimedia journalist. I have a biased love for Real Madrid and passionate advocate for the overall growth of the Nigeria Sports Project. I can be reached on 09077894123 or/and ''

Leave a Comment