NFF await Buhari’s assent to Establishment Bill

| |

The Nigeria Football Federation have revealed that the Establishment Bill endorsed by the National Assembly is being awaiting the assent of the President Muhammadu Buhari.

It will be recalled in May 2019, the National Assembly had endorsed the document which repealed the NFA Act and established NFF; recognizes football as a National Asset entitled to special privileges and concessions; amongst other changes.

This was made known during the visit of the new executive team of the Nigeria Football Coaches Association paid the General Secretary of Nigeria Football Federation, Dr. Mohammed Sanusi a courtesy call at the NFF Secretariat in Abuja.

“I will tell you the home truth because I am also one of you. We have a situation in which some coaches are not alive to their responsibilities. We know some of them who instigate players to agitate unnecessarily, especially in the National Teams, because they stand to benefit from such agitation. It is not appropriate.

“I hold this body in high esteem, as I made my name in football and not even in academics. We will look at the various requests that you have made, including strengthening the Technical Department.

“I can assure you that we will also grant the NFCA an office at the new NFF Office, make even more robust the CAF coaching courses that we have been running and look at the issue of a few National Team coaches that are being owed with a few to offsetting those debts.”

On the request for the NFCA to be qualified to have a member on the board of the NFF, Dr. Sanusi told the body’s executives to allow the NFF Bill – which is awaiting the assent of Mr. President – to unfold and the NFF Reform Committee to conclude its work to see what is possible.

Bosso, a former Head Coach of the U20 and U23 National Teams at different periods, was in company with Victor Nwakanma (second vice president); Etta Egbe (public relations officer); Diana Asak (welfare officer), Justine Madugu (financial secretary); Danlami Usman Akawu (assistant training officer); Abdulrazaq Usman (auditor); John Sam Obuh (treasurer) and; Stanley Eguma (secretary).

Also at the meeting were Dr. Emmanuel Ikpeme (NFF Deputy General Secretary); Bola Oyeyode (Director of Competitions); Bitrus Bewarang (Director of Technical); Charity Kadiri (Director of Finance); Ademola Olajire (Director of Communications); Abdulrafiu Yusuf, Siji Lagunju and Dr. Robinson Okosun (Assistant Directors, Technical) and; Ruth David (Head of Women Football).


Umar Ganduje to host Kano Pillars after Asante Kotoko clash

Otedola fulfills N9m AFCON per-goal pledge to Super Eagles


Olusola 'Jide

I'm an avid and seasoned sports/ multimedia journalist. I have a biased love for Real Madrid and passionate advocate for the overall growth of the Nigeria Sports Project. I can be reached on 09077894123 or/and ''

Leave your opinion and arguments below

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.