AFCON 2019: Mikel, Ighalo, 11 others shun welcome party


The Super Eagles have arrived Nigeria after winning the bronze at the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations.

The 10-man team arrived aboard Air Peace on Friday morning at the Nnamdi Azikiwe International Airport, Abuja and were received by the Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Boss Mustapha.

The Nigerian national team led by its Technical Adviser Gernot Rohr supported by Nigeria Football Federation First Vice-President, Seyi Akinwunmi, 2nd Vice Chairman Shehu Dikko, Secretary General, Dr Sanusi Mohammed and NFF Board member, Ahmed Yusuf Fresh, the three-time champions landed at the airport at 10:15 am and headed to their Bolton White hotel Zone 7, Abuja at 11:40 am.

They were treated to a colourful reception at the Arrival Hall of the Nnamdi Azikiwe Airport Abuja where led by the Victor Nwejinaka led Black Bone Cultural troupe

The players that came were the Super Eagles assistant captain, Ahmed Musa, the three goalkeepers, Ikechukwu Ezenwa, Daniel Akpeyi, and Francis Uzoho.

Others are Kenneth Omeruo, Wilfred Ndidi, Chidozie Awaziem, Victor Oshimen, Samuel Chukwueze, and Shehu Abdullahi.

Uganda's First AFCON Goal Since 1978 Knocks Out Mali

Barcelona will not pay “a single euro” for Neymar – report

We wanted to win the Nations Cup for Nigerians – Abdullahi


Olusola 'Jide

I'm an avid and seasoned sports/ multimedia journalist. I have a biased love for Real Madrid and passionate advocate for the overall growth of the Nigeria Sports Project. I can be reached on 09077894123 or/and ''

Leave a Comment