Super 8 may not hold today as five NNL clubs shun playoff

| |

Five Nigeria National League, NNL clubs have shunned the Nigeria Football Federation order to play the NNL Super 8 playoff scheduled to commence today (Wednesday).

Nigeria Football Federation had on Monday through a press release ordered all the eight qualified NNL teams to arrive Aba on Tuesday ahead of the NNL Super 8 playoff expected to kick off on Wednesday, 19th December 2019.

As at the time of filing this report, three NNL clubs, Real Stars, Gombe, and Delta Force are in Aba the venue for the playoff while 3sc,Remo Stars, Kada, Bendel Insurance, and Kogi United have refused to honour the Super 8 playoff.

NNL had proposed that two teams from each four abridge leagues (8 teams) should be promoted to participate in the 2018/19 Nigerian Professional Football League, NPFL season.

NFF, on the other hand, has insisted that the Super 8 playoff should hold to produce four teams that will join the existing 20 NPFL clubs for 2018/19 season.

It will be recalled that the Emergency Committee of the Nigeria Football Federation, last weekend has directed the eight Nigeria National League teams to start the playoff on Wednesday in Aba.

The committee which was headed by the NFF president added that it is necessary for all the eight qualified clubs to be in Abia state on or before Wednesday to play the Super 8 that will provide the four teams which will join the 20 existing clubs in the 218/19 season.

This is contained in a press release by the NFF Head of Communications, Ademola Olajire which reads in parts,:

“The Emergency Committee thus directed that teams contesting the Super 8 Tournament, scheduled for Aba, should arrive the Abia State capital on Wednesday, 19th December, and the tournament must be concluded by Sunday,23rd December for the Nigeria National League to present teams to the Nigeria Professional Football League for the new season.

“The Super 8 Tournament must go ahead with all the teams arriving on or before Wednesday, 19th December. I enjoin all the eight qualified teams to endeavour to be in Aba for this tournament, in order to ensure that the LMC has the names of the four teams promoted from the NNL, and go ahead to conduct its draws for the new season.” The Committee also directed that the NNL must proceed with the tournament as scheduled with the Clubs that report to Aba while stating that disciplinary action would be taken against those who fail to honour their obligations to participate in the Super 8 andthe directives of the NFF.

“At the same time, the League Management Company must make best efforts to ensure that all parameters, processes and procedures are set to commence the new Nigeria Professional Football League season before the first day of January, 2019.”

Gombe United FC, Remo Stars FC, Shooting Stars Sports Club,Bendel Insurance FC, Delta Force FC, Kada Stars FC, Real Stars FC and Kogi United are the teams qualified for the NNL Super 8 Tournament.

Recall that six NNL teams in a Club Owners meeting in Abuja decided not to participate in the playoff.


Nigeria local leagues may not start till after 2019 elections – club owner

I have created over 200 millionaires – Dalung



•Sport writer/blogger • Media strategist •Good citizen of Nigeria and Social Media Evangelist and a core die hard Real Madrid fan.

Leave a Comment