NNL Congress approves 8 teams promotion to NPFL as league kicks-off Jan 19

| |

By Frankie Omokhua

The Nigeria National League’s Annual General Meeting (AGM) took place at the Nera Hotel in Jabi, Abuja, on Saturday night with a proposal to promote 8 teams to the Nigeria Professional Football League (NPFL).

The proposal is still expected to be submitted to the League Management Company (LMC) before a meeting between top stakeholders will be convened to discuss the final outcome of the proposal.

Already, the Super 8 play-off which is usually an avenue to determine teams that will be promoted to the top echelon of the league has been scrapped by the Nigeria National League Executive body, as the tournament will no longer be on the agenda next season.

The Congress also approved the 2018/2019 season to kick off on January 19, 2019, in an abridged format of 4 groups.

The new arrangement will have the top finisher and winners in each of the groups gaining promotion to the Premier League in winner takes it all procedure.

The eight teams penciled down for promotion include, Gombe Utd, Kogi Utd, Kada City, Real Stars, Bendel Insurance, Delta Force, 3SC and Remo Stars.

The Congress propose on twelve teams to be relegated from the abridged 2018/19 NPFL at the end of the season.

Already, followers of the Nigerian league are expressing different opinions over the latest development which will see twenty-eight teams compete in the NPFL., a situation they viewed as alien to the league.

The NPFL had held its draw for the 2018/2019 league season on Tuesday in Asaba, Delta state, without promoted teams from the NNL taking part in the event.


Why I can’t bring back Efe Ambrose to Super Eagles team – Rohr

Super Falcons battle top rivals, Cameroon for AWCON 2018 finals ticket



•Sport writer/blogger • Media strategist •Good citizen of Nigeria and Social Media Evangelist and a core die hard Real Madrid fan.

Leave a Comment