#FIFAFootballAwards: Everything you need to know about #TheBest 2018

| |

The Best Awards are an award ceremony presented by the FIFA since 2016, aimed at reviving the old FIFA World Player of the Year prize – which was merged with the Ballon d’Or in 2010.

This year’s award ceremony will take place on September 24 in London at 7:30pm BST (2:30pm ET), with actor Idris Elba returning to serve as host.

The FIFA Best Awards are split into nine separate categories, including: Best Men’s Player, Best Goalkeeper, Best Men’s Coach, Best Women’s Player, Best Women’s Coach, the FIFA Fair Play Award, FIFA Puskas Award, FIFA Fan Award and the FIFA FIFPro World11.

I deserve to be in the FIFA final three-man list – Griezman

After an action-packed year that included a World Cup, ‘The Best’ awards are back for their latest installment.

The ceremony will begin at 20:00 CET at the Royal Festival Hall in London. Spanish publication ‘Sport’ claims that Lionel Messi will not be present, whilst ‘Sky Sports’ say the same of Cristiano Ronaldo, with both players currently preparing for midweek matches.

Mohamed Salah, Luka Modric and Ronaldo will battle it out to be named best player, but the Croatian is the bookies’ favourite after sparkling for club and country over the course of the last year.

Luka Modrić has won the 2017/18 UEFA Men’s Player of the Year award

Were he to win, the former Tottenham midfielder would break the Messi/Ronaldo stranglehold for the first time since Kaka back in 2007, but he will have to wait until Monday night to find out.

The best female player of 2018 will also be announced, with Ada Hegerberg, Dzsenifer Marozsan and Brazilian Marta those in the running for that one.

The highly-anticipated winner of the 2018 Puskas Award will also be revealed, with 10 hopefuls keen to succeed Olivier Giroud as the holder of that prestigious title.

FIFA’s World XI is also on the agenda, with the team based on the votes of fellow professionals only. The 2017 sides was made up of: Buffon; Dani Alves, Sergio Ramos, Bonucci, Marcelo; Kroos, Modric, Iniesta; Messi, Neymar and Cristiano Ronaldo.

Now the countdown continues to find out this year’s winners…


D’Tigress aim for second FIBA world cup victory

Modric ends Ronaldo-Messi era to be crowned world’s best


Leave a Comment