FCT SWAN pass vote of no confidence on Sirawoo

| |

In the bid to effectively reposition sports journalism, the Sports Writers Association of Nigeria (SWAN), FCT chapter have unanimously passed a vote of no confidence on the national leadership of the association led by Honour Sirawoo.

In a five-point communique issued after an emergency congress convened on Wednesday at the secretariat in the National Stadium, Abuja, jointly signed by Olujide Fasekun, Emmanuel Afonne, Clinton Agbor and Tolu Oguntimehin, the FCT SWAN bemoaned the proliferation of non-journalists in the National Executive Committee at the national level.

The association also called on the Nigeria Union of Journalist (FCT chapter) and the National Secretariat to withdraw the registration of the association with the Corporate Affairs Commission which contravenes the NUJ constitution which was done without due consultation with members nationwide and the approval of the NEC.

The chapter further decried the organised removal, suspension and forced resignation of elected members of NEC and replaced non-elected protégés of the president, Sirawoo while frowning at the inordinate plans of the national body to remove the association from affiliating with the NUJ.

Sirawoo emerged president of the association in a July 2016 election held in Ilorin


#CAFCC: Enyimba to meet Rwanda’s Rayon Sports in Quarter-Finals

Dalung to inaugurate Elite Athlete Development grant on Monday



•Sport writer/blogger • Media strategist •Good citizen of Nigeria and Social Media Evangelist and a core die hard Real Madrid fan.

Leave a Comment