20 cricketers hit Edo camp for ICC T20 World Cup qualifiers

20 cricketers hit Edo camp for ICC T20 World Cup qualifiers

20 senior female cricket players begun camping at Edo State Cricket High-Performance facility within Edo Boys High School, Adolor, Benin City ahead of the International Cricket Council, (ICC) Women’s World Cup, Africa qualifiers

Teenage centurion player  (played 100 runs), Piety Lucky, and 99 runs player, Salome Sunday are among the 20 girls invited by the Nigeria Cricket Federation. Most of the invitees took part in the Rwanda genocide commemorative Kwibuka T20 tournament in June 2021.

Nigeria senior female cricket team finished 4th in the 5 nation tournament without Piety featuring. The senior female team was adjudged to be good at batting despite winning only one game against Botswana.

While the kwibuka tournament serves as a dress rehearsal for the team, cricket pundits in the country have advocated a longer assemblage of the players as a panacea for improved results in future tournaments.

“Most of the common errors that showed up in their play will be avoided. I believe their batting is almost on the same level as that of the top female African teams Where they struggle is the discipline, match awareness, and fitness to see out tournaments,” team manager Mr. John Oboh observed.

The full list of invited players are as follows,

  1. Omonye Asika,
  2. Favour Eiegbe,
  3. Agatha Obulor
  4. Oseyanda Omokhiohbio
  5. Piety Lucky
  6. Abigail Igbobie
  7. Miracle Imimole
  8. Joy Efosa
  9. Chinyenum George
  10. Etim Blessing
  11. Salome Sunday
  12. Blessing Frank
  13. Esther Sandy
  14. Kehinde Abdulquadri
  15. Taiwo Abdulquadri
  16. Rachel Samson
  17. Blessing Nwobodo
  18. Mary Desmond
  19. Fyneface Fate
  20. Shakirat Oyewole.

The African qualifiers of the Women’s T20 World Cup would are hosted by Botswana between 7th to 20th September 2021 with Botswana, Cameroon, Namibia, and Nigeria participating.

Other countries expected to be in the qualifiers include Malawi, Mozambique, Rwanda, Sierra Leone, Tanzania, Uganda, and Zimbabwe, the only Test Cricket playing countries.

Check Also

Kean scores winner as Juventus beat Mourinho's Roma

Kean scores winner as Juventus beat Mourinho’s Roma

Moise Kean scored the only goal as Juventus beat Jose Mourinho’s Roma to earn a …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *